Should Christians be involved in Government?

I was invited to attend “Pastor’s Appreciation Day”  held at the Capitol building in downtown Richmond, Va. recently by the Family Foundation, a pro-life watchdog organization closely affiliated with the local and national government. We met with senators and delegates and then had the privelige to sit in on the General Assembly sessions. As I walked into the room, I noticed smiling faces to my right, cheerfully nodding me in. And on my left, doleful, almost expressionless faces. As I took my seat, there was a noticeable “thickness” or “tightness” in the air. We were aware that two pro-life bills would be either killed or passed here today and by the demeanor on the left, they were ready for blood. I guess it didn’t help that the pastor beside me whispered, “that lady in red is the devil!” I knew what he meant (she is a pro-life bill killer[and baby killer for that matter]anti-life advocate) The man next to her was the same and I know we are not supposed to judge based on the outward appearance, but both seemed hollow-eyed and puppet-like and I got the distinct impression they were being controlled by an unseen force. Ephesians 6:12 states “For we* are not fighting against flesh-and-blood enemies, but against evil rulers and authorities of the unseen world, against mighty powers in this dark world, and against evil spirits in the heavenly places.” (NLT) Nowhere, is this more evident than on capitol hill. Another pastor concurred with my theory and said, “you should go to Washington D.C. some time…the assemblies there are so much “tighter” with oppression, you  can sense the Holy Spirit at war with the wickedness.” Satan is referred to as the “prince of the power of the air” in Ephesians and he definitely has his sway on the wicked of this world. Politics is where the heat of this battle happens. I hear so many Christians say that we are not supposed to be involved in politics and that is a growing theological trend in the contemporary Church. This view is absolute nonsense! Look at Church history and you will see a rich history of Christians being salt and light in every area of existence, including government. God instituted 3 things; Family, Government, Church. In that order. To say that Christians should not partake in government is to say that Christians should not partake in the family either. Nonsense. Stay informed, get involved, and for God’s sake, vote!

Btw-A victory was won today, both bills passed through the General Assembly and through the senate-praise God! Let’s stop abortion!

One thought on “Should Christians be involved in Government?

  1. right on point, son. I am so proud of what you have allowed God to do through you. I agree 100% with your article and I’m so proud of you taking a stand for unborn children who don’t have a voice or say in what happens to them. Like my pastor says,”53 million unborn lives taken so far”….and we call other countries uncivilized????????

Leave a Reply

